Performance issues

Volker

Hello,

for several weeks I can observe a performance degradation. When I select an item in the tree view it takes up to 10 or 15 minutes until all thumbnails are displayed. This happens both on the server itself and on separate client PCs. Is there a way to identify the bottleneck?

Here is an example showing the situation about three minutes after selecting an item on the left hand side:

image.thumb.png.20583edef71de1bd97ca74b312b74fa4.png

Best regards,
Volker

I am not an expert here, but I have a few questions:

Did the problem appear after an update, either to Daminion, or the program associated with the dng files?

Have you checked your directory structure, and your catalog definition in the sever? It appears that the server does not know where the thumbnails are.

If you select that item again later, does it now know the thumbnails, or does it have to generate them all over again?

Do you have multiple catalogs? If so, do they all behave the same?

Do all your file types exhibit this problem?

I am not sure whether the issue first appeared after a certain update. Meanwhile I assume that there's a problem with the thumbnails and therefore currently I recreate them all. It is a long lasting procedure, but it seems to be the solution to this problem.

The problem here is that I can start the recreation of the thumbnails for about just 10,000 images. Whenever I select more images the connection to the server gets lost after some time. Is there a way to recreate all thumbnails in a safe and stable way?

Hi Volker, 

Please let me know your Daminion version - the screenshot does not show it. Also, please let me know your PostgreSQL version and check if the thumbnailsStorePath= parameter is set in your catalog.config file located here: C:\Program Files (x86)\Daminion Software\Daminion Server. If so, where is it pointing? 

Kind regards, 

Daria

Hi Daria,

thank you very much! The manual upgrade of the client did the job 🙂