Dates, dates and more dates

Paul Barrett

Is there an 'Exif Tool in Daminion' expert on this forum who could help me out please?

The back story:

I am a newbie to Daminion and I am already loving it, having suffered the nightmare of Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop Elements. Their tag management is smoke and mirrors, the horrors of which were exposed when I started to view the library through other apps such as Windows Photo and Synology Photostation and found that despite deleting redundant tags and exporting the metadata to file, Adobe do not overwrite tags, they append them.

So 15 years of of tagging, changes of mind, total revamps etc and every remnant of the old ways was 'lovingly' preserved in the metadata. I used Exif Tag Remover to clear the metadata and re-exported it from PSE, only to discover that Adobe preserves all the deleted tags in its database, suppresses them in its own interface (so you think they have gone) but exports them all to the metadata again.

So finding Daminion and sorting the tags out properly was wonderful.

I have one outstanding issue, and that is equalising dates.

Daminion does a good job of reading dates from multiple metadata sources (Exif, XMP etc) and mapping them to Daminion fields. But for reasons that I don't understand (I'm still new to this) doesn't seem to reverse the process when writing the metadata to file. This is important to me because I want to view the library through various apps all of which use different metadata fields for presenting the files.

To demonstrate an extreme example, I did Daminion updates across 13,000 images and so the file modified date was changed to 'today.' But Windows Photo uses the date modified to sort the images. Therefore every one of my images was shown as being 'todays' image when in fact the earliest of my library dates to 1904!!