folder watching and synchronising on demand

Per-BKWine

I am unsure if this exists already in some way or not.

Can Daminion "watch" folders and alert me if something has changed (is out of sync); and then let me know which folders/files are un-synced; let me sync on demand, and then show me what has been catalogued?

Example:

Let's say I have a "master folder" called 2014. I want Daminion to have all of the contents catalogued. But when something new is catalogued I also want to do some modifications on it in the catalouge.

If I add a sub folder in the "2014" folder, lets say a sub-folder called "141204 Paris", then I would like Daminion to alert me to that there is a new (or changed) folder in the "watched" 2014 folder.

But I don't want Daminion to catalogue the new folder automatically because if it does I might not be aware that there are new items in my catalogue.

So I want Daminion to simply alert me that something is "not in sync" and then give me the option to sync it manually.

Is this possible in some way?

• Upvote 1

In order to work with files in the Daminion they should be imported into the program before.

You can add a new sub-folder called "141204 Paris" by the "Rescan Folder" or by the "Auto-Rescanning Folder" command in a server catalog.

After that you can locate all newly imported files via the "Saved Searches > Last Imported" option. You can also select the "Saved Searches > Imported Today" and then sort the files by Imported Date or Imported Session Id in order to see the recently added files.

Hope this helps.

Well, doesn't quite do what I want. I understand that you need to import files to work on them.

It is a question relative to what work-flow one has, and I'm trying to figure out a way how to fit Daminion into my workflow.

I would normally move new files (folders) into my archive folder, which is catalogued, with Windows Explorer. Then I would go into the cataloguer and catalogue the new files and assign metadata.