Installing Server on Local PC

Paul Barrett

Hi folks

I have been using Daminion standalone for a few months now. My images library is stored on a Synology NAS drive so I can use Photo Station to give me web access,

I believe that by installing the server version I can set up file / folder watching service to auto-update the catalog for changes made in Photo Station.

Al the help inho is about setting up a new catalog not converting an existing.

Has anyone else dine this? If so can you offer any advice please?

Trgards

Pauk

Hello Paul,

if you don't want to convert the existing local catalog you have to import the files on the NAS to a new shared catalog. There are some information for you to decide which schema is the best for you: https://daminion.net/tutorials/selecting-the-right-file-storage-scheme-for-daminion-server

I use schema A even if other are faster regarding the access to the files but this is ok for me. The catalog and the thumbnails are on internal SSD.

Regards, Uwe

OK I tried to create a new shared catalog but I have problems.

The picture shows the issue. I am no techie so most of this is way over my head. They say a picture paints a thousand words and since I have no words to describe the situation, here's the picture:

post-3427-0-22010500-1482050890_thumb.png

At step 7 I began to realise that there might be some sort of permissions issue but I am at a loss to know what to do to fix it

I'd welcome any feedback

Season's greetings to you all

- Paul

Update:

Uwe very kindly got on a TeamViewer session with me this morning and looked at the problem.

It appears to be related to postgres, which has a connection problem. Uwe is successfully running a very similar system to mine, with two key differences:

1. He is running Windows 10 Pro and I am running Home. Home seems to have a problem running the required services.

2. He has overlaid a later version of postgres.