NAS & face tag questions

IGraham

Hello

The quick question version

First question for me is a deal breaker

1. Can I move the database to a NAS so that so that more than one installation of Daminion can access the images - not simultaneously

2. Can Picasa face tags be used by Daminion - and if so how

3. Will Daminion be implementing its own version of face tag

The long version

I'm quite new to organising images - all were littered across my PC and NAS

For the past month I've been slowly getting things sorted in to one folder/images hierarchal system on my NAS - used AmoK Exif Sorter for that.

I Also looked at a few image organisers and eventually went with Picasa as I could use it with the folder/images and database stored on my NAS - which could be accessed from more than one installation of Picasa on separate PC's. I Also liked Picasa's tagging and face recognition, liked the relatively simple uncluttered layout as well. I didn't like how hard it was to use those tags to select and view the images.

So I looked again at image organisers and found one I'd previously missed Daminion - which even has a free version and a reasonably priced paid version to tempt the punter.

So I installed Daminion last night and have had a initial 'play' with it - looking good.

It sees and users my NAS based system ok, but doesn't store a database within the NAS file system. So my first question is going to concern that, can I move the database to the NAS ? - how

My second question is to do with face recognition, I've spent some time using Picasa to face tag people - are those face tags not accessible to Daminion, if so how do I import/see/use them. Will face recognition eventually be incorporated within Daminion

No doubt if the first question can be resolved - do say 'yes' - I'll eventually have a few more questions

Happy new year

Hey lGraham,

welcome to Daminion.

Well let me answer your questions:

First question for me is a deal breaker