Feature Requests/Bugs

djherwehe

Hello. I've been using Daminion for about a week now, and I'm pretty impressed. I'm just getting into the world of asset management, and I've tried a couple different programs, but even in Beta, Daminion is the best program I've tried. It seems a lot like Adobe Bridge, but without being such a resource hog. With that being said, everyone wants their software to be the best, so I figured I'd share my list of features I'd like to see, along with reporting what (I'm assuming) are some bugs. I know some of these features have already been requested, but I want to get my vote in along with them.

Features:

-The ability to customize coloring in the app

-More control over the palettes. For instance, I'd like to separate Categories and Keywords, so I can scroll in each independent of each other. Right now, there's a Properties palette and a Tags palette, and while I can control what properties are shown in each one, I can't split them up.

-The ability to save a workspace so I can customize different property views for different work.

-Better key mapping. Ctl+D jumps me to the properties palette, but it jumps to whichever property has the focus. It would be better if each property had it's own mapping (though now that I think about it, I'm only using about 4 properties, and there's a lot more than that. This may not be feasible.)

-Adding the functionality for Stacks (which is there, but grayed out)

-(this is a long one) Not sure if this is a bug, or User Experience decision, but adding keywords by typing in the properties palette does not seem right to me. If I'm trying to add three keywords ("Brown", "Cake", "Chocolate"), it goes like this:

Click photo

Ctl+D (assuming keywords have focus)

Type "Bro"

Cursor down to "Brown" (love this feature, btw)

Hit Enter

Type/Cursor to "Cake"

Hit Enter

Type/Cursor to "Chocolate"

Hit Enter

Click off of the photo (This is where the keywords are applied)