server setup B to C

jacob

I am new to Daminion and have recently setup a server following Scheme C (where the images are held in a local directory not directly accessible on network).

I'm changing over to Scheme B, because I do want users to be able to drag images into InDesign layouts from Daminion. So I have a question I need to answer before I proceed, so things are setup correctly

Assuming

the images are stored following Scheme B (https://daminion.net/tutorials/selecting-the-right-file-storage-scheme-for-daminion-server)

and they are located on a network volume X, which is local to the server,

but I have also imposed domain controller user permissions so most client computers have read-only for Volume X.

My question:

Would a given user (who had read-only privileges to Volume X), logged in to Damninion network catalog with tagging permission admin permission, still be able to change tags and other editing features within Daminion? I would think so, since Daminion would have write-access to Volume X.

I could test this out, but I am hoping someone with prior experience will know already. I will provide my results either way.

Thank you in advance,

Jacob

Daminion user permissions lay on a different layer than the Windows or Active Directory user permissions.

If a Windows user with the readonly access to the Volume X, will log in into the Daminion Server with the Viewer role then he can't edit neither your tags no your files on this volume.

But if he logs in as an Editor or Admin user into the Daminion Server, then he can change tags in the database. He can also change (rename, remove, move) your files on the Volume X, if the Daminion Server service log on user has the Write access to the Volume X.

Even if you'll connect to the Daminion Server as a Daminion User, all further actions with the files and tags will be done centrally, by the Daminion Server service log on user.

Murat,