Is there a way to do a restore from a backup file that Daminion has created?

ckbeme

Greetings all,

It's my first time visiting the forum, for the past 2 months or so when I've had a question or a problem, I used your Web chat and someone got back with me. But I've got a very serious problem with my entire photo collection and I've been waiting over 2 days for a reply so I hoped someone on here has some help to offer.

I've been using Daminion Stand Alone for about 2-3 months. I had some issues with it, but I thought I could live with those. I did a test run on writing the tags to the file, using about 30 photos. All went well, so I wrote tags to all of my photos. Bad idea. Hundreds of errors.

Photos were moved to different folders. My folder structure is mostly Date Taken driven, but I have some folders that are under a year and their name is related to the content.

Pictures

January

February

March

January

February

up to October 2018. Sometimes I have subfolders under the month and those sub folders have many photos under them.

One example of a goof up, Subfolders that WERE under 2008/November were moved to 2004/no month.

Hundreds of photos had their Creation Datetime changed to 10-17-18, which was the date I ran the process to write the tags. In some cases, those photos with changed dates were also moved to a different folder, other times they were still in the correct folder, but one or more of these - Creation Date, File Creation Date, Modify Date, Exif Date Digitized would now contain the date 10-17-18, or a seemingly random date. Not all dates were changed in a photo, but usually at least 2 dates are changed. The most important dates - Date Taken and Exif Date Digitized. Many times the Exif Date Digitized had zeros in the date field.