CSV import for hierarchical tags

louis_louise

I have been using a Digital Asset Management (DAM) system for many years for taking care of my collection of photos. It is a database-only driven system and not very modern in its appearance and functions. The latest version was a complete disaster and I became very worried that I could lose what I built over many years. I had lots of hierarchical categories and customized fields that were solely in the proprietary database and very awkward to deal with. The system had become unstable. Any operation was difficult and I needed to experiment a lot before using most features.

In the meantime, other DAM systems have evolved and some are making extensive use of information stored inside the photos (EXIF, IPTC and XMP formats).

The beauty of these formats is that the information resides inside your files. In case of a disaster with the DAM database the whole system could be rebuilt from the files and you are not stuck with a proprietary structure that could kill your collection if you are not extremely careful with managing it properly.

I did a thorough investigation of DAM softwares and I came up with a short list of interesting options including Daminion. There are a few things about Daminion that really attracted me:

•  
  • All information is kept inside the photos at least for the JPEG and TIFF that my collection is made of.
  • The interface is clean and functional.
  • The input boxes are easy to use and expand as more text is added.
  • The list of tags is so easy to customize and we can hide all the information that we do not use.
  • It is easy to build hierarchical categories that will be stored inside the photos as well.
  • Search is quite powerful and simple.
  • There is functionality to import files and associated metadata (the main purpose of this blog).